Inspiration-the crashing of the waves.

As a little girl driving to the beach seem to always take such a long time. The build up prior to was something that you anticipate, dream about. The sand squishing between your toes, the water cresting upon your legs, and the wind blowing through your hair. You think about it all week until the day comes. Then your parents get off work, pack up the car and head West.

Underwater road-at least we thought so…

Driving around the bend and into the deep forested woods we used to think we were driving under water. This was the imagination working overtime as a child. Upon arriving into the town of the small coastal city you saw crab shacks and antiques hanging outside banging against old washed out wood poles. Windows began to roll down and I breathed in the beautiful salty, crisp air.

Something about the ocean, something about this town took me to another place. I can’t tell you really where it was. It just did. Water and or the ocean represents life or truth and rebirth. Maybe that’s what it was. I needed that as a child even. We got to our place at the beach unpacked. There was always a campfire and the magnificent stars above our innocent heads. Ghost stories and flash lights below our chins made the night.

****

The next adventure awaited us as the sun rose. Waking up to the salty air, nothing better. The smell of bacon cooking and coffee intermingling with the wafting aroma of sand and sea. Wanting to venture to the big vast wave maker we anxiously awaited the old folks to awake and have their pot of coffee first. Finally after the coffee, the bacon and making plans we were unleashed to the water.

The dunes.

The dunes greeted us with the smell of dill. Dill is growing throughout the dunes and in between the dunes you can find large bright blankets strewn across with picnics and potato chips with birds vying for crumbs. Our bright, ragged, and pink blanket is laid upon a dune that is perfect and away from the wind. The water calls us. We run and fast! My feet love the feel of the sand. I feel the temperature change as I get closer and the sand color changes from a light muted tan to a dark almost charcoal color. The sand is wet and wonderful. I approach the water with vigor. The temperature stings my skin. Burr it’s cold. I get deeper, it’s now at my waist. I am numb. This is why I love the ocean. She takes me to that place again. I sit down in the cold, aquamarine water. The waves splash against me pushing me farther up towards the sand line. I pull myself out of the water and look down at my tiny little legs and they are a lobster red from the frigid water.

I run a circle in the sand with my arms out to my side mimicking the sea gulls. I caw like the birds. I am free from all the life before this day. The waves have rinsed me of my life prior to this point. I am inspired by the waves. I lay down in the sun and listen to the waves as they crash upon the shore.

Waves crashing-aww the sea!

One thought on “Inspiration-the crashing of the waves.

Leave a Reply

